China: Opening of new Courier Terminal at Shanghai Pudong Airport (PVG) Read more

Sustainable High-Performance Logistics

stage image

UN Sustainable Development Goals

The United Nations (UN) has set out a set of 17 Sustainability Development Goals (SDGs) as part of its 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. These goals, which were adopted by all UN member states in 2015, provide a blueprint for action to end poverty, protect the planet, and ensure peace and prosperity for all.

The SDGs are a collection of ambitious and interrelated targets that aim to tackle some of the world’s most pressing challenges, including poverty, inequality, climate change, and environmental degradation. They are designed to be universal, meaning that they apply to all countries and all people, regardless of their level of development.

Services & Info

The 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) are:

  1. No Poverty: End poverty in all its forms everywhere.
  2. Zero Hunger: End hunger, achieve food security and improved nutrition, and promote sustainable agriculture.
  3. Good Health and Well-being: Ensure healthy lives and promote well-being for all at all ages.
  4. Quality Education: Ensure inclusive and equitable quality education and promote lifelong learning opportunities for all.
  5. Gender Equality: Achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls.
  6. Clean Water and Sanitation: Ensure availability and sustainable management of water and sanitation for all.
  7. Affordable and Clean Energy: Ensure access to affordable, reliable, sustainable, and modern energy for all.
  8. Decent Work and Economic Growth: Promote sustained, inclusive, and sustainable economic growth, full and productive employment, and decent work for all.
  9. Industry, Innovation and Infrastructure: Build resilient infrastructure, promote inclusive and sustainable industrialization, and foster innovation.
  10. Reduced Inequalities: Reduce inequality within and among countries.
  11. Sustainable Cities and Communities: Make cities and human settlements inclusive, safe, resilient, and sustainable.
  12. Responsible Consumption and Production: Ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns.
  13. Climate Action: Take urgent action to combat climate change and its impacts.
  14. Life Below Water: Conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas, and marine resources for sustainable development.
  15. Life on Land: Protect, restore, and promote sustainable use of terrestrial ecosystems, sustainably manage forests, combat desertification, and halt and reverse land degradation, and halt biodiversity loss.
  16. Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions: Promote peaceful and inclusive societies for sustainable development, provide access to justice for all, and build effective, accountable, and inclusive institutions at all levels.
  17. Partnerships for the Goals: Strengthen the means of implementation and revitalize the global partnership for sustainable development.

Each of these SDGs has specific targets and indicators that are used to measure progress towards achieving them. For example, SDG 1 (No Poverty) has targets to eradicate extreme poverty and reduce the number of people living in poverty by at least half. SDG 13 (Climate Action) has targets to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and increase the share of renewable energy in the global energy mix.

The SDGs are not just a set of goals, but a framework for action that requires the involvement of all sectors of society. Governments, businesses, civil society organizations, and individuals all have a role to play in achieving the SDGs. By working together, we can create a better, more sustainable world for everyone.